All about Java Indonesia

Provinces and Big Cities in Java

Big cities

Java Island has a population of 136 million people (1995), with a density of 1029 people/km², the island became one of most crowded population in the world. The three western part of the island (West Java, Banten, and Jakarta) has a density more than 1,400 people/km².

The island of Java administratively consists of six provinces:

1. Special Capital Region of Jakarta

Special Capital Region of Jakarta (DKI Jakarta, Jakarta Raya) is the capital city of Indonesia. Jakarta is the only city in Indonesia which has a province-level status. Jakarta is located in northwest part of Java Island. Formerly been known as the Sunda Kelapa (before 1527), Jayakarta (1527-1619), Batavia, or Jacatra (1619-1942), and Djakarta (1942-1972). Jakarta has an area 661.52 km², with a total population of 9,588,198 inhabitants (2010). The metropolitan area of Jakarta (Jakarta, Bogor, Depok, Tangerang, Bekasi) has a population about 23 million inhabitants. The city is the most populous city in Indonesia or sixth of the world.

2. Banten Province

Banten Province used to be a part of West Java province, but separated since 2000. Banten province consists of 4 regencies and 4 cities. Serang is the capital of Banten province. Serang is directly in northern part of Banten province. Banten has total population of 9,351,470 inhabitants (2006). Sea area of Banten is one potential sea route, the Sunda Strait is one strategic sea traffic lane because links the big ship from Australia and New Zealand to Southeast Asia such as Thailand, Malaysia, and Singapore. In addition, Banten is the link between Java and Sumatra.

3. West Java Province

The capital of West Java province located in Bandung city. The history shows that West Java is the first province in the territory of Indonesia. This province comprises 17 regencies and 9 cities. This province has the largest population in Indonesia. In 2002, West Java population reached 37,548,565 people, with an average density of 1033 people/km². Most of the population of West Java are the Sundanese, who speak the Sunda language. Read more about West Java Province in our past article.

4. Central Java Province

Central Java is known as the “heart” of Javanese culture. The majority population of Central Java are Javanese. Administratively, the province of Central Java consist of 29 regencies and 6 cities. The population of Central Java Province was 32,380,687 inhabitants. The capital of the province is located in the Semarang city. Read more about Central Java Province in our past article.

5. Special Region of Yogyakarta

Special Region of Yogyakarta (or Jogja, Yogya, Jogjakarta, Yogyakarta, and often abbreviated DIY) is a province located in the southern part of Java Island and bordering with Central Java province in the north. Unlike other provinces in Java, Yogyakarta led by a king who serves as governor. Yogyakarta Province is comprised of 4 regency and one big city of Yogyakarta. The area was hit by the earthquake in Java on May 27, 2006 which resulted in 1.2 million people homeless.

Provinces of Java

6. East Java Province

The East Java province has area of 47,922 km² and its population 37,070,731 peoples (2005). East Java province has the largest territory among the 6 provinces in Java, and has the second largest population in Indonesia after West Java. East Java is known as a center of eastern culture of  Java, and has a fairly high economic significance. Administratively, East Java, consists of 29 regency and 9 cities, making the province of East Java which has a most districts in Indonesia. East Java capital city located in Surabaya city.

3 responses to “Provinces and Big Cities in Java”

  1. Erwin Mckendall says:

    What an awesome site. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply to Tim Amazindo Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *